Our projects / Culture Ecology Innovation Solidarity

EKOMED 2021

A programme of four projects for the collection and recovery of waste from natural areas on the Montenegrin Adriatic coast.

Help us finance the first phases of studies for EKOMED 2021, an innovative and forward-looking programme.

EKOMED 2021 is composed of four complementary projects that make up four facets of a circular economy model. It includes environmental protection, renewable energy, carbon reduction, while contributing to the creation of jobs that will balance the seasonal tourism activity.

The Montenegrin coast is one of the most interesting and varied coasts, both in terms of nature and culture. Natural by its tormented relief, cultural by the various civilizations which crossed there. Since the end of the conflict in the former Yugoslavia, tourism has developed very quickly and sometimes in an uncontrolled way.

On the one hand, the coastline has been urbanised on an infrastructure network that is often insufficient for water purification and waste treatment. This poses a risk of pollution to aquatic fauna and flora due to the accumulation of plastic waste and wastewater.

On the other hand, the traditional rural areas bordering the coastal zone have been abandoned and often invaded by invasive vegetation that encourages forest fires. Today they are threatened by an exclusively tourist urbanisation and by the loss of a natural, cultural and immaterial heritage which was the very attraction of these territories.

Four programmes: a circular economy model

The project therefore consists of studying and developing strategies, programmes and innovative tools for the enhancement, protection and maintenance of natural areas on the Adriatic coast of Montenegro.

It is intended to be replicable on the Mediterranean coastline, which includes many sites that urban development and tourism threaten to degrade. Contacts have already been made with partners in Morocco, Albania, Lebanon and Croatia who are interested in developing the project.
It comprises several programmes that will bring together the skills of different partners (local institutions, companies, NGOs, experts) for both the study and implementation phases. These four programmes each include a study phase and an implementation phase. Although complementary, each of them has its own objective and can be treated independently.

The whole forms a coherent and sustainable ecological project, a circular economy model including : Environmental protection, renewable energies, reduction of carbon emissions while preserving financial balances and contributing to the creation of rewarding jobs that will balance the tourist activity to allow employment throughout the year. All the partnerships developed during the different programmes should represent a model of participatory and democratic engineering.

1-VRMAC: A peninsula to protect

The project is located locally in the Vrmac region, a peninsula between the Bay of Kotor and the Bay of Tivat. The mountainous central part is deserted and neutralised by invasive vegetation that hides ancient historical remains, hamlets and abandoned terraced crops. It is in the process of being listed as a protected natural area.

The project, which is planned in its entirety, includes the clearing of the central part and the establishment ofa plan to secure the site in cooperation with specialised organisations. But also, the creation of a farm/workshop for the valorization of biomass, in the form of pellets. Finally, the development of agricultural activities (olive trees, vines, livestock, medicinal plants) and bioproduction (distillation of essential oils, organic health and beauty products, etc.). The enhancement of the rural and cultural heritage and the promotion of ecotourism are also central points of this local action.Forest fire prevention on the coast

Site security

Biomass recovery

Protection and enhancement of the site

Rural revitalisation and job creation

Development :

  • Creation of a waste treatment plant using high-temperature pyrolysis ( Synecom patent ) to treat sewage sludge mixed with biomass (see Ekowast project)
  • Implementation of a barge with a compressed air engine to ensure the collection and transport of biomass without CO2 emissions (see Eco-barge project)

The project will require a preliminary feasibility study including the various local and external partners.

2- EKO-BARGE: a mobile waste collection barge

According to the NGO WWF, 600,000 tonnes of plastic are dumped into the Mediterranean every year, making it the largest plastic waste accumulation area in the world. It is estimated to be four times more polluted than the "7th plastic continent". This is less visible because the Mediterranean concentrates millions of plastic particles on which many chemical pollutants are concentrated. The proposed solutions can be replicated and thus contribute to the preservation of the marine ecosystem.

The project therefore consists of collecting waste at sea, in the river and on the shore. The collection will be carried out by a flat-bottomed barge (12MX6) equipped with collection nets and collection bags ( Thomsea).
The barge will be equipped witha compressed air engine (Master Renault) from Anthos Air Power (0 emissions).

  • A recharging station equipped with solar panels will allow the engine to be recharged.
  • The station will be mobile and will follow the Ekobarge cleaning programme.
  • The station will be equipped with a café/terrace module, an air-conditioned "Ekobar", thanks to the release of compressed air.

It will be designed to be visible during the tourist season and will be part of a "clean Mediterranean" promotional campaign.

The shoreline collection will be carried out by a mobilisation of NGOs and volunteers who will participate in the campaign. Collection from the sea will free the coast from truck traffic during the tourist season.

Development

  • Replication of the project in Croatia (Municipality of Zadar) and Morocco (Municipality of Oujda)
  • The Eko-barge will also be used to collect biomass during the winter to clean up coastal forest areas to prevent summer fires.
  • Vegetable waste will be recovered in the form of pellets.
  • The stations will be left in operation to provide energy for the Eko-barges.
  • A barge model will be adapted for passenger transport in the Kotor mouths
  • The equipment will be integrated after the season into the Vrmac and Eko-brod projects.

3- EKO-WASTE: a pyrolysis waste treatment plant

Treating all types of waste without any polluting emissions while producing energy is one of the most ecological solutions possible. The project therefore consists of building a waste treatment station using the high-temperature pyrolysis system developed by the company Synecom.

The small size and flexibility of the installations allow municipalities to be independent in the treatment of their waste and to amortize the investments and operating costs through energy production.

Two types of stations will be offered :

A fixed station which will aim to treat and valorise the surplus of urban waste during the tourist season as well as the sludge from the sewage treatment plant associated with biomass waste during the off seasons (autumn, winter).

An experimentalmobile station equipped with laser technology mounted on a trailer that can treat the various illegal dumps as well as waste from isolated villages. These stations will be powered solely by compressed air and will therefore not emit any CO2.

In both cases the stations will be equipped with generators to produce stored energy in the form of compressed air. The project also includes equipment and generators with compressed air engines.

4-EKO-BROD: a low-carbon ferryboat capable of processing waste

Many coastal sites on the Mediterranean coast, ports, marinas, hotel complexes, islands, are often difficult to access by land. Allowing the treatment of their waste, on site, without any pollution, while supplying them with energy and drinking water, represents a major asset for the ecological transition of these regions. This model of ferryboat with a low-carbon engine could develop and reduce the environmental impact of this mode of transport.

  • Environmentally friendly waste treatment on ships for coastal areas and islands
  • Energy and freshwater production
  • Promoting zero CO2 shipping with compressed air engines

Description:

The project consists of the construction of a prototype of a waste treatment plant boat, using the high temperature pyrolysis system developed by the company Synecom. The boat (a small recycled ferryboat) will make it possible to treat the waste on site without any dangerous emissions.

It will be particularly adapted to the treatment of plastics recovered at sea (see Eko-barge project) as well as the treatment of waste from hotels in the marina, ports and coastal towns that are invaded during the summer period.
The motorisation of the ferry will be carried out by an engine adapted to compressed air with the kit developed by the Anthos Air PowerCompany.

Compressed air will be produced on board by waste treatment and by energy from photovoltaic panels.

The energy produced will be used to power a reverse osmosis unit to deliver fresh water (particularly in the case of the islands). All operations (moving the boat, waste treatment, production of fresh water) will be carried out without any CO2 emissions. A cold room fed by the exhaust of the engine air at -70* will allow the transport of sensitive products.

Development :

  • Replication of the project in Croatia (Municipality of Zadar) and Morocco. (Municipality of Oujda)
  • Development of the process of adapting engines for compressed air for the energy conversion of the numerous ferries in the Adriatic Sea which are currently very polluting.
  • Parallel development of a solar powered compressed air production station.

Sustainable development objectives
Location
Adriatic coast of Montenegro, cities of Bar, Budva, Herceg, Kotor, Novi, Tivat, Ulcijn.

Partners
Anthos Air Power Motorisation, Valgo Foundation, Genio Pyrolyse, Sté Thomsea - equipment, Ministry of Tourism and Sustainable Development (Montenegro), Ministry of Science (Montenegro), Ministry of Transport (Croatia), R20 Foundation, Pôle national de la sécurité civile de Nîmes (fires) NGO "Napredak Gornja Lastva" and "Expeditio" (Montenegro), cities and municipalities of Tivat, Kotor, Ulcijn, Bar, Budva, Tivat, Herceg Novi

Share this project on :
Twitter, Facebook or Linkedin

Nos Projets / Culture Écologie Innovation Solidarité

EKOMED 2021

Un programme de quatre projets destinés au ramassage et à la valorisation des déchets présents dans les espaces naturels de la côte adriatique monténégrine.

Aidez-nous à financer les premières phases d’études d’EKOMED 2021, un programme innovant et résolument tourné vers l’avenir.

EKOMED 2021 est composé de quatre projets complémentaires qui composent quatre facettes d’un modèle d’économie circulaire. Il inclut la protection de l’environnement, les énergies renouvelables, la réduction des émissions carbone, tout en contribuant à la création d’emplois qui viendront équilibrer l’activité touristique saisonnière.

La côte Monténégrine est une des côtes les plus intéressantes et variées tant sur le point naturel que culturel. Naturel par son relief tourmenté, culturel par les différentes civilisations qui s’y sont croisées. Depuis la fin du conflit de l’ancienne Yougoslavie, le tourisme s’est développé très rapidement et parfois de façon incontrôlée.

D’un côté, le littoral s’est urbanisé sur un réseau d’infrastructure souvent insuffisant par rapport à l’assainissement des eaux et au traitement des déchets. Ceci fait peser un risque de pollution sur la faune et la flore aquatique due à l’accumulation de déchets plastiques et des eaux usées.

De l’autre, les espaces ruraux traditionnels qui bordent la zone côtière, ont été abandonnés et souvent envahis par une végétation invasive favorisant les feux de forêt. Aujourd’hui ils sont menacés par une urbanisation exclusivement touristique et par la perte d’un patrimoine naturel, culturel et immatériel qui faisait justement l’attrait de ces territoires.

Quatre programmes : un modèle d’économie circulaire

Le projet consiste donc à étudier et mettre au point des stratégies, des programmes ainsi que des outils innovants, destinés à la valorisation, la protection et l’entretien des espaces naturels sur la côte adriatique du Monténégro.

Il a vocation d’être réplicable sur le littoral méditerranéen qui comporte de nombreux sites que l’urbanisme et le tourisme menacent de dégrader. Des contacts ont déjà été pris avec des partenaires au Maroc, en Albanie, au Liban et en Croatie qui sont intéressés par le développement du projet.
Il comporte plusieurs programmes qui permettront de réunir les compétences des différents partenaires (institutions locales, entreprises, ONG, experts) tant pour les phases d’étude que de réalisation. Ces quatre programmes comportent chacun une phase d’étude et une phase de réalisation. Dans leur complémentarité, chacun d’eux a son objectif propre et peut être traité indépendamment.

L’ensemble forme un projet écologique cohérent et durable, un modèle d’économie circulaire incluant : La protection de l’environnement, les énergies renouvelables, la réduction des émissions carbone tout en préservant les équilibres financiers et en contribuant à la création d’emplois valorisant qui viendront équilibrer l’activité touristique pour permettre l’emploi tout au long de l’année. L’ensemble des partenariats développés au cours des différents programmes devra représenter un modèle d’ingénierie participative et démocratique.

1-VRMAC : Une péninsule à protéger

Ce projet s’inscrit localement dans la région de Vrmac, une péninsule située entre la baie de Kotor et celle de Tivat. La partie centrale montagneuse est désertée et neutralisée par une végétation invasive qui cache d’anciens vestiges historiques, des hameaux et des cultures en terrasse abandonnées. Elle est en voie d’être inscrite comme zone naturelle protégée.

Pensé dans sa globalité, comprend : le défrichement de la partie centrale et l’établissement d’un plan de sécurisation du site en coopération avec les organismes spécialisées. Mais aussi, la création d’une ferme/atelier de valorisation de la biomasse, sous forme de pellets. Et enfin le développement des activités agricoles (Oliviers, vignes, élevage, plantes médicinales) et de la bioproduction (distillation huiles essentielles, produits beauté santé bio…) La mise en valeur du patrimoine rural et culturel ainsi que la promotion de l’ecotourisme sont aussi des points centraux de cette action locale.Prévention des incendies de forêts sur la côte

> Sécurisation des sites

> Valorisation de la biomasse

> Protection et valorisation du site

> Revitalisation rurale et création d’emplois

Développement :

  • > Création d’une station de traitement des déchets par Pyrolyse haute température (brevet Synecom) pour traitement des boues de station d’épuration mixées avec la biomasse (voir projet Ekowast)
  • > Mise en place d’une barge à moteur air comprimé afin d’assurer la collecte et le transport de la biomasse sans émission de CO2 (voir projet Eco-barge)

Le projet nécessitera une étude préalable de faisabilité incluant les différents partenaires locaux et extérieurs.

2- EKO-BARGE : une barge mobile collectrice de déchets

Selon l’ONG WWF, 600 000 tonnes de plastiques sont rejetées chaque année en Méditerranée, ce qui en fait la plus grande zone d’accumulation de déchets plastiques dans le monde. On estime qu’elle est quatre fois plus polluée que le « 7ème continent plastique ». Cela est moins visible car la Méditerranée concentre des millions de particules de plastique sur lesquelles viennent se concentrer de nombreux polluants chimiques. Les solutions proposées sont en mesure d’être répliquées et de contribuer ainsi à la préservation de l’écosystème marin.

Le projet consiste donc à collecter les déchets en mer, en rivière et sur le rivage. La collecte sera effectuée par une barge à fond plat (12MX6) équipée de filets de ramassage et de sacs de collecte (Sté Thomsea).
La barge sera équipée d’un moteur à l’air comprimé (Master Renault) de la Société Anthos Air Power (0 émissions).

  • > Une station de recharge équipée de panneaux solaires permettra la recharge du moteur.
  • > La station sera mobile et suivra le programme de nettoyage de l’Ekobarge.
  • > La station sera équipée d’un module café/terrasse, un « Ekobar » climatisé, grâce à la libération de l’air comprimé.

L’ensemble sera « designé » de façon à être visible durant la saison touristique et participera à une campagne de promotion « Méditerranée propre ».

Le ramassage sur le rivage sera assuré par une mobilisation d’ONG et de volontaires qui participeront à la campagne. Le ramassage par la mer permettra de libérer les côtes du trafic des camions durant la période touristique.

Développement

  • > Réplique du projet en Croatie (Commune de Zadar) et au Maroc (Commune d’Oujda)
  • > L’Eko-barge sera utilisée également pour la collecte de la biomasse durant l’hiver dans le cadre du nettoyage des zones forestières du littoral afin de prévenir les feux estivaux.
  • > Les déchets végétaux seront valorisés sous forme de pellets.
  • > Les stations seront laissées en activité afin d’assurer l’énergie des Eko-barges.
  • > Un modèle de barge sera adapté pour le transport de passagers dans les bouches de Kotor
  • > Les équipements seront intégrés après la saison dans les projets Vrmac et Eko-brod.

3- EKO-WASTE : une station de traitement des déchets par pyrolyse

Traiter les déchets de toutes natures sans aucune émission polluante tout en produisant de l’énergie représente une des solutions les plus écologique possible. Le projet consiste donc à réaliser une station de traitement des déchets par le système de pyrolyse haute température mis au point par la société Synecom.

La petite taille et la flexibilité des installations permettent à des communes d’être indépendantes pour le traitement de leurs déchet mais aussi d’amortir les investissements et les frais de fonctionnement par la production d’énergie.

Deux types de stations seront proposées :

Une station fixe qui aura pour but de traiter et de valoriser le surplus de déchets urbains durant la saison touristique ainsi que les boues de station d’épuration associées à des déchets biomasse durant les saisons creuses (automne, hivers).

Une station mobile expérimentale équipée d’une technologie laser montée sur remorque pouvant traiter les différents dépôts sauvages ainsi que les déchets des villages isolés. La motorisation de ces stations sera uniquement à l’air comprimé donc sans aucune émission de CO2.

Dans les deux cas les stations seront équipées de générateurs permettant de produire de l’énergie stockée sous forme d’air comprimé. Le projet comprend également les équipements ainsi que les groupes électrogènes équipés de moteur à air comprimé.

4-EKO-BROD : un ferry-boat à motorisation décarboné, capable de traiter les déchets

De nombreux sites côtiers sur le littorale méditerranéen, ports, marinas, complexe hôtelier, iles, sont souvent difficiles d’accès par la terre. Permettre le traitement de leurs déchets, sur place, sans aucune pollution, tout en les alimentant en énergie et en eau potable, représente un atout majeur pour la transition écologique de ces régions. Ce modèle de ferry-boat à motorisation décarbonée pourrait se développer et diminuer l’impact environnemental de ce mode de transport.

  • -Traitement écologique des déchets sur bateau pour les zones côtières et les Iles
  • -Production d’énergie et d’eau douce
  • -Promotion de la navigation zéro CO2, grâce au moteur à air comprimé

Description :

Le projet consiste à réaliser un prototype de bateau station de traitement des déchets, par le système de pyrolyse haute température mis au point par la société Synecom. Le bateau (un petit ferry-boat recyclé) permettra de traiter les déchets sur place sans aucune émission dangereuse.

Il sera particulièrement adapté au traitement des plastiques récupérés en mer (cf projet Eko-barge) ainsi que de celui des déchets des hôtels de la marina, des ports et des villes côtières envahit durant la période estivale.
La motorisation du ferry sera réalisée par un moteur adapté à l’air comprimé avec le kit mis au point par la Sté Anthos Air Power.

L’air comprimé sera produit à bord par le traitement des déchets et par l’énergie des panneaux photovoltaïques.

L’énergie produite pourra alimenter un équipement d’osmose inverse permettant de délivrer de l’eau douce (particulièrement dans le cas des iles.) L’ensemble des opérations (déplacement du bateau, traitement des déchets, production d’eau douce) se fera sans aucune émission de CO2. Une chambre froide alimentée par l’échappement de l’air du moteur à -70* permettra l’acheminement de produits sensibles.

Développement :

  • -Réplique du projet en Croatie (Commune de Zadar) et au Maroc. (Commune d’Oujda)
  • -Développement du procédé d’adaptation des moteurs pour l’air comprimé pour la transformation énergétique des nombreux ferry-boat dans la mer Adriatique aujourd’hui très polluant.
  • -Développement parallèlement de station de production d’air comprimé à l’énergie solaire.

Objectifs de développement durable
Localisation
Côte adriatique du Monténégro, Villes de Bar, Budva, Herceg, Kotor, Novi, Tivat, Ulcijn.

Partenaires
Anthos Air Power Motorisation, Fondation Valgo, Genio Pyrolyse, Sté Thomsea - équipement, de collecte, Ministère du tourisme et du développement durable (Monténégro), Ministère des Sciences (Monténégro), Ministère des transports (Croatie), Fondation R20, Pôle national de la sécurité civile de Nîmes (incendies) NGO « Napredak Gornja Lastva » et « Expeditio » (Monténégro), villes et maries de Tivat, Kotor, Ulcijn, Bar, Budva, Tivat, Herceg Novi

Partager ce projet sur :
Twitter, Facebook ou Linkedin